Timberlake King of the VMAs

Justin Timberlake

Justin Timberlake scooped four Moonmen at the MTV Video Music Awards Sunday night.

The Take Back The Night hitmaker won the coveted Video of the Year prize for Mirrors, beating out competition from Macklemore & Ryan Lewis feat. Wanz (Thrift Shop), Bruno Mars (Locked Out of Heaven), Robin Thicke feat. T.I. and Pharrell (Blurred Lines) and Taylor Swift (I Knew You Were Trouble).

Mirrors also won Best Editing while Justin’s video collaboration with Jay Z, Suit & Tie, scored the Best Editing prize.

Justin was the toast of the evening, taking home the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award, a lifetime achievement honour, midway through the show.

He thrilled the star-studded crowd with a 20-minute performance of Take Back The Night followed by a medley of his hits, including SexyBack, Like I Love You, My Love and Cry Me A River.

He was also joined also by Lance Bass, J.C. Chasez, Chris Kirkpatrick and Joey Fatone for a not-so-secret reunion performance of ‘N SYNC’s 2000 single Bye Bye Bye, marking the band’s first VMA performance in a decade.

Justin’s pal Jimmy Fallon introduced the singer as the “President of Pop” and a “legend” but the star credited ‘N Sync with his career success.

“I don’t deserve this award, but I’m not going to give it back,” he laughed, adding that many of his 14 VMA Awards were won with “those four guys over there”.

It was also a good night for hip-hop duo Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, who picked up three wins, including Best Hip-Hop Video and Best Cinematography for Can’t Hold Us and Best Video with a Social Message for Same Love.

Macklemore called the track the “most important” song he’s ever written, telling the crowd: “Gay rights are human rights, there is no separation”, prompting furious applause from Lady Gaga.

The rapper also performed at the event, joining other acts including Gaga, who opened the show with Applause, as well as Katy Perry, Drake, Kanye West, Bruno Mars, Miley Cyrus and Robin Thicke, among others.

The 2013 MTV Video Music Awards was held at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York.

A full list of winners is as follows:

Video of the Year

Justin Timberlake, Mirrors

Best Hip Hop Video

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis feat. Ray Dalton, Can’t Hold Us

Best Male Video

Bruno Mars, Locked Out of Heaven

Best Female Video

Taylor Swift, I Knew You Were Trouble

Best Pop Video

Selena Gomez, Come and Get It

Artist To Watch

Austin Mahone, What About Love

Best Collaboration

Pink feat. Nate Ruess, Just Give Me A Reason

Best Video With A Social Message

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, Same Love

Best Rock Video

Thirty Seconds To Mars, Up in the Air

Best Art Direction

Janelle Monae feat. Erykah Badu, Q.U.E.E.N

Best Choreography

Bruno Mars, Treasure

Best Cinematography

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis feat. Ray Dalton, Can’t Hold Us

Best Direction

Justin Timberlake feat. Jay-Z, Suit & Tie

Best Editing

Justin Timberlake, Mirrors

Best Visual Effects

Capital Cities, Safe and Sound

Best Song of the Summer

One Direction, Best Song Ever

Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award

Justin Timberlake

© Cover Media